How Far We’ve Come

20130928-213847.jpg

Timehop is definitely one of my favorite apps – especially on days like this. Today it reminded me how far we’ve come since Charles’ prostrate cancer diagnosis and ultimate radical prostatectomy.

Little did we know that when we married in May of 2009 that in four months we’d be faced with major life altering decisions. I think we, like many others who marry, had more grandeur and happy thoughts of a lifetime together.

Four years later we’ve experienced ups and downs, traveled to foreign countries and continents, watched our son marry, watched our grandson’s birth and first birthday, changed jobs, made new friends and countless other events. And yet Timehop quiets me today and reminds me that four years ago we were being introduced to a frightening and unknown cancer world – like so many others sadly experience.

I think I can honestly say that there is a part of me that is glad this happened when it did. Charles at the time was 40 and I was 41.

I now know that the truly little things in life are just that – so many unimportant situations, comments, interactions that don’t deserve the time or energy. Rather there’s life to be lived, places left to see, people’s lives where I might make a difference and there’s time left for all of it.

Leave a Reply

